Louise's Staff Picks

Staff Pick Badge
Fireborn By Aisling Fowler Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780062996718
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - October 5th, 2021

Fireborn by Aisling Fowler is a great middle reader action/adventure/fantasy that the whole family enjoyed.  12 has given up everything including her name to join The Hunting Lodge.  At least it looks that way.  After surprise attacks on the Lodge destroy 12’s second home she is forced to face some troubling truths about herself that will affect the fates of all those around her.


Staff Pick Badge
The Greeks: A Global History By Roderick Beaton Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781541618299
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Basic Books - November 2nd, 2021

For everyone who has been looking for a comprehensive history of the Greek peoples, Roderick Beaton’s The Greeks a Global History truly has it all.  It's a fascinating true story that starts with an enterprising group of rough seafarers in prehistoric times, through the formation of western culture, and ends with recent political and social upheaval in the Mediterranean world.  “It's all Greek to me” is more than just a saying and this book lays out in a clear and concise way to what extent those plucky sailors influenced the entire world.  This is a great book for any history buff and the audio version narrated by Anna Crowe is a great way to enjoy this title without needing to be a weight lifter!


Staff Pick Badge
Madhouse at the End of the Earth: The Belgica's Journey into the Dark Antarctic Night By Julian Sancton Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781984824349
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Crown - February 22nd, 2022

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The “exquisitely researched and deeply engrossing” (The New York Times) true survival story of an early polar expedition that went terribly awry—with the ship frozen in ice and the crew trapped inside for the entire sunless, Antarctic winter


Staff Pick Badge
Empire of the Vampire By Jay Kristoff, Bon Orthwick (Illustrator) Cover Image
By Jay Kristoff, Bon Orthwick (Illustrator)
$29.99
ISBN: 9781250245281
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - September 14th, 2021

This is the vampire book you’ve been waiting for, no matter what it is you’ve been waiting for.


Staff Pick Badge
The Merciful Crow (The Merciful Crow Series #1) By Margaret Owen Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9781250191922
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Henry Holt and Co. (BYR) - July 30th, 2019

A Tor.com Best of 2019 Pick
A 2020 YALSA Best Fiction for Young Adults Pick

Debut author Margaret Owen crafts a powerful saga of vengeance, survival, and sacrifice—perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Kendare Blake—in
The Merciful Crow.


Staff Pick Badge
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo: A Novel By Taylor Jenkins Reid Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501161933
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Washington Square Press - May 29th, 2018

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER

“If youre looking for a book to take on holiday this summer, The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo has got all the glitz and glamour to make it a perfect beach read.” —Bustle

From the New York Times bestselling author of Daisy Jones & the Six—an entrancing and &ldq


Staff Pick Badge
The 7 1/2 Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle By Stuart Turton Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781492670124
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - May 7th, 2019

"Pop your favorite Agatha Christie whodunnit into a blender with a scoop of Downton Abbey, a dash of Quantum Leap, and a liberal sprinkling of Groundhog Day and you'll get this unique murder mystery." ?Harper's Bazaar


Staff Pick Badge
Pet Sematary: A Novel By Stephen King Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781982115982
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Gallery Books - February 26th, 2019

Now a major motion picture! Stephen King’s #1 New York Times bestseller is a “wild, powerful, disturbing” (The Washington Post Book World) classic about evil that exists far beyond the grave—among King’s most iconic and frightening novels.

When Dr.


Staff Pick Badge
Extraordinary Popular Delusions and the Madness of Crowds By Charles MacKay Cover Image
$22.22
ISBN: 9780857193179
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Harriman House - April 29th, 2013

First published in 1841, Extraordinary Popular Delusions and the Madness of Crowds is often cited as the best book ever written about market psychology. This Harriman House edition includes Charles Mackay's account of the three infamous financial manias - John Law's Mississipi Scheme, the South Sea Bubble, and Tulipomania.


Staff Pick Badge
A Conflict of Visions: Ideological Origins of Political Struggles By Thomas Sowell Cover Image
$37.90
ISBN: 9780465002054
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Basic Books - June 5th, 2007

Thomas Sowell’s “extraordinary” explication of the competing visions of human nature lie at the heart of our political conflicts (New York Times)

Controversies in politics arise from many sources, but the conflicts that endure for generations or centuries show a remarkably consistent pattern. In this classic work, Thomas Sowell analyzes this pattern.