YA Virtual Event with Liara Tamani and Sophie Jordan

Event date: 

Saturday, June 20, 2020 - 1:00pm

Event address: 

Join Houston-area YA authors Liara Tamani and Sophie Jordan virtually for a panel discussion of their June releases, All the Things We Never Knew and Kissing Lessons. Both of these titles are romance-heavy, beautiful explorations of young women finding their own places in the world. We are thrilled to host this discussion.

Click here to register for the Zoom event.

Liara Tamani lives in Houston, Texas. She holds an MFA in writing from Vermont College. She is the author of the acclaimed Calling My Name, which was a 2018 PEN America Literary Award Finalist and a 2018 SCBWI Golden Kite Finalist, and All the Things We Never Knew. www.liaratamani.com

Sophie Jordan grew up in the Texas hill country where she wove fantasies of dragons, warriors, and princesses. A former high school English teacher, she's a New York Times, USA Today, and international best-selling author of over thirty novels, including The Me I Meant to Be and Kissing Lessons. She now lives in Houston with her family. When she's not writing, she spends her time overloading on caffeine (lattes preferred), talking plotlines with anyone who will listen (including her kids), and cramming her DVR with true-crime and reality TV shows.
sophiejordan.net
Twitter: @SoVerySophie
Instagram: @sosophiejordan

 

**For virtual signings, we are able to offer personalizations on books ordered prior to the event date. This will cause a delay in shipment/pick up availability time due to social distancing.

FINE PRINT:  The authors' featured book(s) must be purchased from KBB in order for it to be signed. Please hold on to your receipt if purchased ahead of time. 

 

Staff Pick Badge
All the Things We Never Knew Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780062656919
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Greenwillow Books - June 9th, 2020

"Tamani masterfully bounces and slams two hearts up and down a shrouded court of first love and revelations. A hard-to-put-down backboard-breaker."--Rita Williams-Garcia, National Book Award Finalist and New York Times-bestselling author

 

From the moment Carli and Rex first locked eyes on a Texas high school basketball court, they both knew it was destiny. But can you truly love someone else if you don't love yourself? Acclaimed author Liara Tamani's luminous second novel explores love, family, heartbreak, betrayal, and the power of healing, in gorgeous prose that will appeal to readers of Nicola Yoon and Jacqueline Woodson.

 

A glance was all it took. That kind of connection, the immediate and raw understanding of another person, just doesn't come along very often. And as rising stars on their Texas high schools' respective basketball teams, destined for bright futures in college and beyond, it seems like a match made in heaven. But Carli and Rex have secrets. As do their families.

 

Liara Tamani, the author of the acclaimed Calling My Name, follows two Black teenagers as they discover how first love, heartbreak, betrayal, and family can shape you--for better or for worse. A novel full of pain, joy, healing, and hope for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, Jacqueline Woodson, and Jenny Han.

 

"A beautifully poignant love letter: to a first love, to basketball, and to that enigmatic bunch we think we know best, only to discover we don't know at all--family. Tamani's latest is a bright shining star."--David Arnold, New York Times-bestselling author of Mosquitoland


Staff Pick Badge
Kissing Lessons Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781328977076
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - June 2nd, 2020

A steamy contemporary YA romance by New York Times best-selling author Sophie Jordan about a girl with a bad reputation giving lessons on how to attract guys for some extra cash--only to fall for her client's golden-boy brother. For fans of Kami Garcia, Katie McGarry, and Netflix's Sex Education.

 

Wild, beautiful, and (as rumor has it) experienced, Hayden Vargas doesn't have time for love or relationships. She's learned the hard way that the only person you can count on is yourself, and she's hell-bent on earning enough money to leave her small, judgy Texas town as fast as possible. So when nerdy Emmaline Martin offers to pay Hayden for lessons in seduction, the money is so easy, there must be a catch. Enter the catch: Emmaline's older brother, popular, all-around nice guy(TM) Nolan Martin, who doesn't want his sister's reputation tarnished by the school's resident bad girl.

 

But Hayden should know that looks can be deceiving. Nolan may seem like a golden boy, but like Hayden, he has a few secrets of his own. And the more he meddles in her lessons with Emmaline, the more these polar opposites clash--and the more sparks fly. Turns out Nolan may have some lessons to teach Hayden, but only if she's willing to learn.


Event Category: