Hot Summer Reads YA Virtual Panel

Event date: 

Thursday, May 13, 2021 - 8:00pm to 9:00pm

Event address: 

Join this panel of authors with steamy summer YA releases across all subgenres. These books come out throughout May and June, and you're going to want to read all of them!

This is a paid event. Purchase a ticket below, which gets you entry into the event and the featured title of your choice. Each additional title you order gets a larger discount, so stock up your summer TBR pile by adjusting the number of titles.

We will send the Zoom link the morning of the event to anyone who has purchased a ticket. 

 

Sophie JordanSixteen ScandalsSophie Jordan grew up in the Texas hill country where she wove fantasies of dragons, warriors, and princesses. A former high school English teacher, she's a New York Times, USA Today, and international best-selling author of over thirty novels, including The Me I Meant to Be and Kissing Lessons. She now lives in Houston with her family. When she's not writing, she spends her time overloading on caffeine (lattes preferred), talking plotlines with anyone who will listen (including her kids), and cramming her DVR with true-crime and reality TV shows.

 

 

 

Molly E. LeeEmber of NightMolly E. Lee writes adult and young adult contemporary featuring strong female heroines who are unafraid to challenge their male counterparts, yet still vulnerable enough to have love sneak up on them. In addition to being a military spouse and mother of two plus one stubborn English bulldog, Molly loves hiking, enjoying the outdoors around her mountain home, and digging for treasures in antique stores. She is the author of Ask Me Anything, the Grad Night series, and the Love on the Edge series.

 

 

 

Destiny SoriaFire with FireDestiny Soria spent her childhood playing with sticks in the woods and exploring such distinguished careers as Forest Bandit, Wayward Orphan, and Fairy Queen. In later years, she ran away to New Zealand for seven months, where she backpacked across the wilderlands, petted fluffy sheep, and gave tours of a haunted prison. Nowadays she lives and works in the shadow of the mighty Vulcan statue in Birmingham, Alabama.

 

 

 

 

Jordyn TaylorDon't Breathe a WordJordyn Taylor is a New York City-based writer and journalist, currently the deputy editor at Men's Health magazine; her work has appeared in the New York Observer, Mic, and Glamour.com.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Zoe Hana MikutaGearbreakersZoe Hana Mikuta currently attends the University of Washington in Seattle, studying English with a creative writing focus. She grew up in Boulder, Colorado, where she developed a deep love of Muay Thai kickboxing and nurtured a slow and steady infatuation for fictional worlds. When she is not writing, Zoe can be found embroidering runes onto her jean pockets, studying tarot or herbology, or curled up with a cup of caramel coffee and a good, bloody but heartwarming book. Gearbreakers is her debut novel.

 

$17.99
SKU: 05132021
Please select the number of featured titles you would like to order.

This ticket gets you entry into our Hot Summer Reads YA Virtual Panel with authors Sophie Jordan, Molly E. Lee, Destiny Soria, and Jordan Taylor, and the featured title of your choice. Each additional title you order gets a larger discount, so stock up your summer TBR pile by adjusting the number of titles.

If you already know which books you'd like, you can include the titles in the comment field when you check out. Otherwise, we'll follow up with you after the event.

 

Sixteen Scandals by Sophie Jordan (5/25/21) signed

In this irreverent regency romp by New York Times best-selling author Sophie Jordan, newly minted sixteen-year-old Primrose Ainsworth finds herself on a wayward birthday adventure through London with a mysterious hero--perfect for fans of My Lady Jane.

The youngest of four daughters, Primrose Ainsworth is used to getting lost in the shuffle. But when her parents decide to delay her debut into English society, Prim hatches a plan to go rogue on the night of her sixteenth birthday.

Donning a mask, Prim escapes to the infamous Vauxhall Gardens for one wild night. When her cover is nearly blown, a mysterious stranger intercedes, and Prim finds an unexpected partner in mischief . . . and romance. But when it's revealed her new ally isn't who he says he is, her one night of fun may last past dawn.

In this frothy regency romp perfect for fans of Austen-esque flirtation and Shakespearean hijinks, sometimes a little scandal can be a good thing.

 

Ember of Night by Molly E. Lee (5/4/21)

I am a weed.

Unloved by my abusive, alcoholic dad. Unwanted by my classmates. Unnoticed by everyone else.

But I'd suffer anything to give my kid sister a better life--the minute I turn eighteen, I'm getting us the hell out of here. And some hot stranger telling me I am the key to stopping a war between Heaven and Hell isn't going to change that.

Let the world crumble and burn, for all I care.

Draven is relentless, though. And very much a liar. Every time his sexy lips are moving, I can see it--in the dip of his head, the grit of his jaw--even if my heart begs me to ignore the signs.

So what does he want?

I need to figure it out fast, because now everyone is gunning for me. And damn if I don't want to show them what happens when you let weeds thrive in the cracks of the pavement...

We can grow powerful enough to shatter the whole foundation.

 

Gearbreakers by Zoe Hana Mikuta (6/29/21) with signed bookplate

Two girls on opposite sides of a war discover they're fighting for a common purpose--and falling for each other--in Zoe Hana Mikuta's high-octane debut Gearbreakers, perfect for fans of Pacific Rim, Pierce Brown's Red Rising Saga, and Marie Lu's Legend series.

We went past praying to deities and started to build them instead...

The shadow of Godolia's tyrannical rule is spreading, aided by their giant mechanized weapons known as Windups. War and oppression are everyday constants for the people of the Badlands, who live under the thumb of their cruel Godolia overlords.

Eris Shindanai is a Gearbreaker, a brash young rebel who specializes in taking down Windups from the inside. When one of her missions goes awry and she finds herself in a Godolia prison, Eris meets Sona Steelcrest, a cybernetically enhanced Windup pilot. At first Eris sees Sona as her mortal enemy, but Sona has a secret: She has intentionally infiltrated the Windup program to destroy Godolia from within.

As the clock ticks down to their deadliest mission yet, a direct attack to end Godolia's reign once and for all, Eris and Sona grow closer--as comrades, friends, and perhaps something more...

 

Fire with Fire by Destiny Soria (6/8/21)

Raised to be fierce dragon slayers, two sisters end up on opposite sides of the impending war when one sister forms an unlikely, magical bond with a dragon in this standalone YA contemporary fantasy that's perfect for fans of Slayer and Sorcery of Thorns.

Dani and Eden Rivera were both born to kill dragons, but the sisters couldn't be more different. For Dani, dragon slaying takes a back seat to normal high school life, while Eden prioritizes training above everything else. Yet they both agree on one thing: it's kill or be killed where dragons are concerned.

Until Dani comes face-to-face with one and forges a rare and magical bond with him. As she gets to know Nox, she realizes that everything she thought she knew about dragons is wrong. With Dani lost to the dragons, Eden turns to mysterious and alluring sorcerers to help save her sister. Now on opposite sides of the conflict, each sister will do whatever it takes to save the other. But the two are playing with magic that is more dangerous than they know, and there is another, more powerful enemy waiting for them both in the shadows.

 

Don't Breathe a Word by Jordyn Taylor (5/18/21)

A fast-paced, exhilarating story about a boarding school shrouded in secrecy and the girl who will do anything to right the institution's wrongs. --Jessica Goodman, Indiebound bestselling author of They Wish They Were Us

Critically acclaimed author Jordyn Taylor weaves an addictive mystery perfect for fans of Truly Devious.

Eva has never felt like she belonged . . . not in her own family or with her friends in New York City, and certainly not at a fancy boarding school like Hardwick Preparatory Academy. So, when she is invited to join the Fives, an elite secret society, she jumps at the opportunity to finally be a part of something.

But what if the Fives are about more than just having the best parties and receiving special privileges from the school? What if they are also responsible for keeping some of Hardwick's biggest secrets buried?

1962:

There is only one reason why Connie would volunteer to be one of the six students to participate in testing Hardwick's nuclear fallout shelter: Craig Allenby. While the thought of nuclear war sends her into a panic, she can't pass up the opportunity to spend four days locked in with the school's golden boy.

However, Connie and the other students quickly discover that there is more to this "test" than they previously thought. As they are forced to follow an escalating series of commands, Connie realizes that one wrong move could have dangerous consequences.

Separated by sixty years, Eva and Connie's stories become inextricably intertwined as Eva unravels the mystery of how six students went into the fallout shelter all those years ago . . . but only five came out.


Event Category: