Educator's Cocktail Party with Roxanna Elden

Event date: 

Friday, February 21, 2020 - 5:30pm to 8:00pm

Event address: 

870 S. Mason Rd
#101
Katy, TX 77450

Roxanna Elden

This one is for all our educator friends, but everyone who loves a funny, super-entertaining read is welcome!

Join us for a cocktail hour at 5:30 to unwind after a long week dealing with everyone else's (or even your own) children. We're serving a special Teacher's Aid drink just for y'all!

Then, at 6:30, Roxanna Elden will give a talk about and then sign her debut novel, Adequate Yearly Progress, which the Washington Post said is "reminiscent of 'The Office', but set in an urban high school." And not just any urban high school, a Texas high school. Roxanna Elden has eleven years of experience as a public school teacher, coupled with a decade of speaking on education issues, so this book is as authentic as they come.

Adequate Yearly Progress: A Novel Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781982135027
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - February 11th, 2020

A debut novel told with humor, intelligence, and heart, a “funny but insightful look at teachers in the workplace…reminiscent of the TV show The Office but set in an urban high school” (The Washington Post), perfect for fans of Tom Perrotta and Laurie Gelman.

Roxanna Elden’s “laugh-out-loud funny satire” (Forbes) is a brilliantly entertaining and moving look at our education system.

Each new school year brings familiar challenges to Brae Hill Valley, a struggling high school in one the biggest cities in Texas. But the teachers also face plenty of personal challenges and this year, they may finally spill over into the classroom.

English teacher Lena Wright, a spoken-word poet, can never seem to truly connect with her students. Hernan D. Hernandez is confident in front of his biology classes, but tongue-tied around the woman he most wants to impress. Down the hall, math teacher Maybelline Galang focuses on the numbers as she struggles to parent her daughter, while Coach Ray hustles his troubled football team toward another winning season. Recording it all is idealistic second-year history teacher Kaytee Mahoney, whose anonymous blog gains new readers by the day as it drifts ever further from her in-class reality. And this year, a new superintendent is determined to leave his own mark on the school—even if that means shutting the whole place down.


Event Category: