Once a King (Hardcover)

Once a King Cover Image
$17.99
In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


A young king searches for a way to save his kingdom in this romantic fantasy from Erin Summerill, who was called “absolutely marvelous” by New York Times bestselling author Sarah J. Maas.

Aodren: A lonely, young king, searching for a way to dismantle his father’s dark legacy.
Lirra: A girl with the power to control the wind, torn between duty and following her dreams
 
For twenty years, Channelers—women with a magical ability—have been persecuted in Malam by those without magic. Now King Aodren wants to end the bloody divide and unite his kingdom. But decades of hatred can’t be overcome by issuing decrees, and rumors of a deadly Channeler-made substance are only fueling people’s fears. Lirra has every reason to distrust Aodren. Yet when he asks for help to discover the truth behind the rumors, she can’t say no. With Lirra by his side, Aodren sees a way forward for his people. But can he rewrite the mistakes of the past before his enemies destroy the world he’s working so hard to rebuild? Erin Summerill returns with a high-stakes fantasy full of romance, magic, and revenge perfect for fans of Susan Dennard and C. J. Redwine.

About the Author


Erin Summerill was born in England. After spending years bouncing between Air Force bases in Hawaii, England, and California, her family finally settled down in Utah. When Erin doesn’t have her nose in a book, she’s busy chasing after her four kids, two dogs, and a cat. Visit her online at erinsummerill.com and follow her on Twitter: @erinsummerill.

Praise For…


“Prepare your heart for the swooniest king in all the lands! With poignant prose and intricate world building, ONCE A KING casts its spell from the very first pages. Fly—don't walk—to sweep up this soaring tale.” –Pintip Dunn, New York Times best-selling author and RITA award winner

"Brain candy for fans of Summerill's worldbuilding."--Kirkus

"
Lirra is a fierce heroine...A lighter fantasy than Graceling, but for a similar audience."--Booklist

"
Timely...A satisfying mixture of political machination, mystery, magic, and romance, especially for fans of previous volumes."--School Library Journal

"
Clever banter, cloak-and-dagger derring-do, and tentative, sweet romance...Series fans and new readers will find much to love."--Publishers Weekly



Product Details
ISBN: 9781328949974
ISBN-10: 1328949974
Publisher: HMH Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: December 4th, 2018
Pages: 464
Language: English
Series: Clash of Kingdoms Novel