Undergrowth: A Novel (Paperback)

Undergrowth: A Novel Cover Image
$20.85
In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Description


In this luminous novel, the all-too-human experiences of fear, love and loss become amplified with potentially disastrous consequences. In 1960s Brazil, an indigenous group is on the brink of a tragedy, the dimensions of which they are only beginning to grasp. A small band of disaffected government agents, academics and visionaries is determined to fight for their cause. Among them is James Ardmore who, along with his nephew Larry, travels to Pahquel, a village in the crosshairs of an environmental showdown. When James dies en route, Larry is left to decide: Should he attempt to escape his own personal demons by immersing himself in a completely foreign culture? Or retreat and resume his disaffected life in the U.S.?  What costs will he bear if he chooses to press forward? Against a lush backdrop, the author gives voice to the complexities of social, anthropological and environmental forces. This is a page-turner of an adventure story that rests upon the deep and unsettling layers of undergrowth.

About the Author


Nancy Burke is a psychoanalyst. Her poetry has appeared in After Hours, The American Poetry Journal, and Permafrost. She lives in Evanston, Illinois.

Praise For…


“A titanic feat of imagination . . . dramatically powerful.”  —Terry Turner, award-winning anthropologist and human rights advocate


"The novel demands that readers set aside their preconceptions about society and civilization and immerse themselves in the world of this small band of renegades, whose personal journeys are every bit as dark and dangerous as any voyage into Brazil’s wilderness." —Bridget Thoreson, Booklist


"Nancy Burke’s immersive debut novel . . . is a compelling examination of family set in verdant 1960s Brazil. . . . Readers will be mesmerized by Burke’s enigmatic prose and skillful character building. Fans of Isabel Allende and Gabriel Garcia Marquez will find much to enjoy here." —Magan Szwarek, IndiePicks Magazine


“Readers will be mesmerized by Burke’s enigmatic prose and skillful character building. Fans of Isabel Allende and Gabriel García Márquez will find much to enjoy here.”  —IndiePicks Magazine


Product Details
ISBN: 9780986154164
ISBN-10: 0986154164
Publisher: Gibson House Press
Publication Date: October 2017
Pages: 426
Language: English