Alicia's Staff Picks

Staff Pick Badge
The Scorpion's Tail (Nora Kelly #2) Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9781538747278
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grand Central Publishing - January 12th, 2021

A second novel following archaeologist Nora Kelly and FBI Agent Corrie Swanson.
A mummified corpse is found in an old ghost town. Nora is asked to find out any information that can help Corrie determine if the corpse's death was an accident or murder.  As facts unfold, they are sent down paths that endanger their lives. It becomes a race to find answers before they end up dead. A good combination of historical facts and thrilling suspense. My first Preston & Child novel but not my last!


Staff Pick Badge
The Silver Arrow Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780316539531
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 1st, 2020

Kate & little brother Tom take off on a journey on a magical train given to Kate by her Uncle for her birthday. Their eyes are opened to all the beautiful and exciting things this world has to offer. They also learn the importance of family and their relationships with one another.

Perfect for fans of Roald Dahl and the Chronicles of Narnia.


Staff Pick Badge
A Bad Day for Sunshine: A Novel (Sunshine Vicram Series #1) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781250149442
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: St. Martin's Press - April 7th, 2020

There's a new sheriff in town, Sunshine Vicram. No kidding, her first day on the job back in her hometown, is a VERY bad day for Sunshine. Murder, kidnapping, old flames, and dealing with a teenage daughter do not make for an easy transition into her new job. Not only are the mysteries of the crimes challenging to figure out, Sunshine's humor and comebacks are extremely entertaining. This book is great for those who enjoy some laughter along with crime solving. Can't wait for #2.


Staff Pick Badge
Walk the Wire (Memory Man Series #6) Cover Image
$29.00
ISBN: 9781538761465
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Grand Central Publishing - April 21st, 2020

Baldacci's new novel is part of the Amos Decker series with Will Robie incorporated. This is a fast paced, action packed novel that has so many twists and turns you go Whoa! Where did that come from?
 
Decker is sent to a small town in North Dakota along with his colleague, Alex Jamison. They have no idea why the FBI has been sent to solve a murder that looks like the local detective should be handling. As they start to uncover clues in the woman's unusual death, another murder occurs, and then another. These deaths raise a lot more questions and possibilities as to what is going on. 
 
This book will definitely keep you on your toes! I loved it!


Staff Pick Badge
Hidden Salem (Bishop/Special Crimes Unit #19) Cover Image
$27.00
ISBN: 9781984802897
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - April 7th, 2020

I am going to admit I am not up to date with Kay's Special Crime Unit series. I was unsure I'd be able to jump back in without being lost. Good News! It can be read and enjoyed as an individual paranormal crime mystery.

A SCU team is sent to a small, isolated town that has evil surrounding it. They must stop that evil before more people are kidnapped or killed. The clock is ticking for everyone.

A good, suspenseful escape read!


Staff Pick Badge
Texas Ranger (A Texas Ranger Thriller #1) Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9781538713877
Availability: Backordered - Availablilty Will be Delayed
Published: Grand Central Publishing - December 11th, 2018

I have recently enjoyed listening to a new series by James Patterson through Libro.fm.  (You can access Libro.fm through the link above)  The character is named Rory Yates and is a Texas Ranger, who doesn't always follow the rules but puts justice first.  I always like reading books set in Texas since that's where I'm from and adding a Texas Ranger in the mix adds to the appeal!  The second book, so far there are only two, is named Texas Outlaw.  They are both exciting murder mysteries that I think any thrill reader will devour!!


Staff Pick Badge
Navigating the Stars Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9781946381019
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Maria V. Snyder - November 24th, 2018

If you want to get your mind off of being on this planet and explore the depths of outer space, try a new series by Maria V Snyder. She is known for her adult Fantasy novels in the Poison Study series. This new intergalactic book group is called the "Sentinels Series" and the first title is Navigating the Stars. It was written for a teen audience but can be enjoyed by any age group. It is about a family traveling from planet to planet searching for the mysterious appearance of Chinese Clay Warriors. Once found, deadly occurrences are happening around them that must be stopped before all is destroyed.
The second novel is called Chasing the Shadows and the third coming in December 2020 is named Defending the Galaxy. Definitely worth the read!


Staff Pick Badge
The List of Things That Will Not Change Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781101938096
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Wendy Lamb Books - April 7th, 2020

A very insightful and well written middle grade novel that will touch everyone's heart. It's amazing just how much adults can learn from novels such as this.
 
Bea has had a lot changes in her young life recently. Her parents give her a notebook to list things that will NOT change. #1 Her mother will always love her. #2 Her father will always love her. Over the next two years, Bea adds to her list as she learns to adjust with all the other things that are changing. 
 
What she learns from all this and what we as adults should realize is "Love doesn't ask you to be anything but what you are".


Staff Pick Badge
A Better Man: A Chief Inspector Gamache Novel Cover Image
$28.99
ISBN: 9781250066213
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - August 27th, 2019

Another excellent Inspector Gamache novel.  A lot of twists and turns with a suprise ending I love!


Staff Pick Badge
The Hazel Wood: A Novel Cover Image
$10.99
ISBN: 9781250147936
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Flatiron Books - March 26th, 2019

A dark fairy tale where Alice must cross over to the Hinterland to save her mother.  Question is, can she get herself back?


Staff Pick Badge
Judgment Road (Torpedo Ink #1) Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780451488510
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Berkley - January 23rd, 2018

If you like spicy books, motorcycles, and bad boys, you'll love this one!


Staff Pick Badge
Glass Houses: A Novel (Chief Inspector Gamache Novel #13) Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781250066299
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Minotaur Books - May 1st, 2018

This book involves two mysteries, one layered over the over, and converging at the end as Gamach brings it all together.


Staff Pick Badge
Warcross Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780399547973
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Speak - June 26th, 2018

Fast-paced tech thriller set in the not too distant future.  Good for both YA and adults.  Marie does a good job keeping it suspensful all the way to the end (which I did not guess!).


Staff Pick Badge
Sycamore: A Novel Cover Image
$18.71
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780062661104
Published: Harper Perennial - January 30th, 2018

A Southwest Book of the Year (2017)


Staff Pick Badge
Seeing Red Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781455572090
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Vision - June 26th, 2018

Good mystery with some romance thrown in.  Liked the twists and turns, and unexpected surprises at the end.


Staff Pick Badge
Up From the Grave: A Night Huntress Novel Cover Image
$9.35
ISBN: 9780062076113
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Avon - January 28th, 2014

Cat and Bones are back in another action-packed, save-the-world adventure.  Death, secrets, and surprises await them in this newest novel.


Staff Pick Badge
Murder Is Easy Cover Image
$15.99
ISBN: 9780062073808
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: William Morrow Paperbacks - June 14th, 2011

I love "Whodunit" mysteries, and who is the best at that? Agatha Christie!

I listened to the audio on Libro.fm while taking my morning walks. Time flew by while listening. The best Whodunits keep you guessing until the end. I was not disappointed. It's always the least expected person, which you try to guess at but are never completely sure of.
     
If you want to take your mind off the issues of the day, read or listen to Murder is Easy. Enjoy!


Staff Pick Badge
Shake Cover Image
$21.05
Email or call for price.
ISBN: 9780062242648
Published: Harper Design - October 22nd, 2013

Along the lines of the bestseller Underwater Dogs, this book is for dog lovers like myself. These photos create lots of smiles and laughter. The dogs are rescue animals which the photographer & myself are great advocates of. Great gift idea!


Staff Pick Badge
Wild Sign (Alpha and Omega #6) Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9780440001584
Availability: In Stock at Our Warehouse - Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Ace - March 16th, 2021

Anna & Charles are sent to a hidden town called Wild Sign.  All of the inhabitants have disappeared with  no clue as to what happened.  They find an evil presence that is somehow linked to the wife of the head Alpha, Bran, and her past.  It is up to all of them to find the evil and destroy it before it's evil spreads.